Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
De Chine et d'Ailleurs
12 décembre 2006

In the desert

Champignon


Back from Kenya, I had no time to rest. Voyage TV gave me another assignment. "Where would I go next?" "Jordan". I started to feel dazed by the countries I was sent to.

"Jordan" did not mean much to me. I knew very little about the Kingdom, and I had just a few days to research about its history, its culture and its landscapes. But after a while, I understood that my assignment would be a fantastic journey. Along the King's Highway, I will eventually get lost into the Wadi Rum desert and the ancient city of Petra.

Jordanie_18

20061218_Jordanie17

Jordan_1

 


The mountains in Wadi Rum are made of sand stones. Erosion for thousands of years led to spectacular rock formations.

 

 

Mohammed, our guide,Mohammed told about the story of the beduins, their generosity, and the absolute necessity of sharing in such hostile environment. Not long after, we heard a Jeep roaring in the distance. They were about to pass us when they saw us. Quickly, the driver did a bend and came in our direction. "How everything is going? Are you ok? Do you have cigarettes?" I gave them my pack and was a bit surprised when they took half of it. But weren't we beduins for a day? 

flower_of_desert

 

Desert can be surprising. I had just learned it. Generosity is a key word, as much as survival. And you can be moved by a single little plant. Or by stunning sunsets.

 

 

sunset_desert

 

zigzag

The next day, early morning.  We hit the road again to get to Petra, the forgotten city. On our way, we met a shepard. Ali and his family were living in the mountainous region of Petra. Sheeps were like cottons flowers in the distance.

 

 

 

 

Cotton_flowers

 

Tents

Ali

What could be said about Petra, home of the long gone Nabataean civilization? The Nabataeans were an ancient Semitic people who loosely-controlled trading network between Syria and the Red Sea. If the origins of the Nabataeans remain obscure, their heritage is still there and is a testimony of their great architectural skills. Trajan definitively conquered the Nabataean kingdom, annexing it into the Roman Empire, where their individual culture, easily identified by their characteristic finely-potted painted ceramics, became dispersed and was eventually lost.

Petra_1

Petra

Nabataeans lived in troglodyte houses like these ones. Troglodytes

And like Nabataeans of yesterday...

Camels

Jordanians of today still use camels

Camels2

 

Publicité
Commentaires
De Chine et d'Ailleurs
Publicité
Archives
De Chine et d'Ailleurs
Publicité